Enrolling/Transferring - ACT Public Schools

Parents/carers are welcome to apply to enrol/transfer their son or daughter at any time during the school year using an online application form. Full details are available from the Education website.

Hawker School is located in the suburb of Hawker in North West Belconnen. It services the priority enrolment area (PEA) of Hawker and shares the priority enrolment area of Scullin and Page with Florey and Weetangera Primary Schools.

Families wishing to enrol their child at Hawker School can apply directly to the school by using the online enrolment form from the Education Directorate at www.det.act.gov.au/school_education/enrolling_in_an_act_public_school. Priority is given to families who reside in the priority enrolment area.

Families who reside outside of our PEA can also apply using the above form. However, out of area offers are only made when places are available.

To enrol in Preschool, children must turn 4 on or before the 30th of April.

To enrol in Kindergarten, children must turn 5 on or before the 30th April.

Older students can be enrolled at any other time providing they meet the enrolment criteria.

Parents and carers are required to have evidence of the following to enrol in an ACT Government School:

  • Date of birth of the child, either a birth certificate (original or certified copy) or a passport
  • The child's immunisation certificate
  • Two forms of proof of residential address - acceptable proof of residential address includes a recent electricity, gas or water account, rental and tenancy agreements, or sale contract.

Enrolments for NSW Residents 

More information can be found at NSW Residents Enrolments.